Inspiring encounters – Mexico

I was trying to think of the best way to start this blog – what could my first post be?! Then, 2 days ago, I had one of those mornings that make you believe that nothing happens by coincidence… and I also remembered what one of you told me before I left: write stuff down! where you go, who you meet. So I decided to start telling you about the lovely people I have met so far.

The great thing about staying in hostels, besides being cheap, is that you meet great people. My first stop was Playa Del Carmen, at the hostel Wonderous World. Within 30mins I was dragged out for drinks by the “family” at the hostel. Some had been staying in Playa for several months, some just a couple of weeks but we all had something in common: we all enjoy meeting new people, we love travelling and Mexican beer! As I only stayed 2 days, these friendships were short-lived but I feel inspired by each of them, their stories which confirmed I would never be alone in this trip if I didn’t want to. I wouldn’t be surprised if I bump into some of them some day.

Not so quiet at this time of the year (Spring Break!!)

Next stop was Baja California. Quick flight to Tijuana and headed to Rosarito and Ensenada. There is something weirdly
not-typically-Mexican about this place…maybe the climate (14C to 25C at most) or the fact that we ended up in an AirBnb flat with olive trees all over us,but amazing, that it was for sure. People are friendly and they drive slowly. An unexpected encounter was with the “Laguna lady”, near the Laguna de Hanson (also called Laguna de Juarez). This is a 2h drive from Ensenada, through the desert. The place is magical, feels like you’ve landed on the moon or something… We stopped for a quick snack at a little shop just before the entrance of the Laguna. When we asked for some burritos, she invited
us to her house, just behind the little shop. I felt very priviledged and slightly voyeurist at first as there were photos of her family all over the main wall and we could see the 2 very simple bedrooms full or her family things…the smell of the food was un unbelievable and the burritos disn’t disappoint. Everything was homemade, I had 2 of them and could have had many more…



She has 3 daughters, one of them lives in Tijuana and is part of the youth Olympic athletic team and she was proud to show us her medals. She let me take a photo with her. We came back for more on the way out of the Laguna and we asked if we could buy some of her salsa. Yummm…

After Baja California, I flew to Monterrey. Through my friend Norma, I met a lot of inspiring people! Estellita was one of them, president of the Rotary club – she was one of the first woman to get into the world of Finance in Mexico!
Then, having a coffee at La Boulange paisana I was introduced to the owner and when I mentioned my plan to volunteer during this trip he introduced me to Indira. Together they happen to have set up La Panacea (ONG on environment and arts). She offered her help to find me a charity in Latin America and I’m also hooking up another friend with them as she wants to volunteer in Monterrey.

I believe everything happens for a reason! I could name so many more people here that have already made my trip worthwhile…!!

5 thoughts on “Inspiring encounters – Mexico

  1. Fernanda Guevara June 23, 2016 / 8:53 am

    This is great, while skimming through your blog, “Mexico” caught my attention and reading about you visiting Tijuana felt so cool. I usually don’t read about people traveling to Mexico here on WordPress.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Fernanda Guevara June 23, 2016 / 3:05 pm

        Really happy you decided to start your blog writing about your trip to Mexico! 😄

        Like

      • Petit Buddha June 23, 2016 / 3:10 pm

        I have more to say about it but am a slow writer lol so skipped as I was in other countries and had to write about that too but I’ll write more about my week in Baja California as I loved it although only stayed near Ensenada

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fernanda Guevara June 23, 2016 / 3:29 pm

        Yay, can’t wait to read about it! Glad you really enjoyed it. Baja California, specifically Tijuana has had a bad reputation for years now, it’s always good to hear the positives once in a while as well 😄

        Like

Leave a Reply

